19. Mai - 10. Juni 2012




Friederike Hamann, Christina Kral, Malte Urbschat

Eingeladen von
Ulrike Gerhardt, Susanne Husse

•Is there anything we can do for now?•

Nachrichten zum Weltuntergang #3

Die dritte Ausstellung der Reihe »Nachrichten zum Weltuntergang« kreist um die Frage, was angesichts unausweichlicher Ereignisse mit gravierenden Auswirkungen für die Menschen getan werden kann. Die drei eingeladenen Künstler_innen Friederike Hamann, Christina Kral und Malte Urbschat nehmen das nahende Weltende als fiktiven Ausgangspunkt für ihre Beiträge und beziehen Stellung zur Handlungsfrage.

Malte Urbschat lotet in seinen Skulpturen, Mobiles, Zeichnungen und Installationen die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft aus. Für »Is there anything we can do for now?« bringt Urbschat an der Fassade des Hauses Nummer 12 der Kollwitzstrasse zwei selbstgenähte Fahnen aus der Serie 8 Fahnen (2003) an, die die Nutzung von Ressourcen und Technologien unseres Alltags verhandeln. Die zunehmende Privatisierung von Wasser und die bisher unbekannten Langzeitfolgen von globalen Mobilfunknetzen sind Themen seiner zwei Fahnen im Außenraum. So wird die Tropfenfahne von einem Schild mit der Aufschrift »Wer verkauft uns unser Wasser?« begleitet. Auf der zweiten Fahne ragt eine Antenne, wie ein menschliches Geschwür oder eine Mutation, aus einem Mobiltelefon und erinnert an die Spekulationen über die Auswirkung von Handystrahlung. Urbschats Installation im öffentlichen Raum antwortet auf die Einladung mit zwei Fallbeispielen, die die Apokalypse als eine Summe vieler prä-apokalyptischer Ereignisse veranschaulichen, für die wir Menschen gemeinsam Verantwortung tragen.

Friederike Hamann beschäftigt sich mit der abstrakten Darstellung heterogener Denkansätze und Ideen in Form spezifischer Konstellationen. Ihre Installation für »Is there anything we can do for now?« knüpft inhaltlich an die Werkreihe Archiv Szenen an, die in den Vorgängerausstellungen mit der Archivrezeption experimentierten. In dieser neuen Arbeit abstrahiert sie das Archiv auf die Strukturen und Formen von Informationen und Architektur und kombiniert sie mit dem kollektiven Handlungspotential einer konkreten und doch offenen Gruppe von Menschen. Im großen Raum von NOTE ON arbeitet sie mit farbigen Papierbögen, die sie in langwierigen Bewegungsabläufen kontinuierlich neu arrangiert und abfilmt. Diese digital und auf 16mm Film festgehaltenen Animationen bestehen aus unendlichen Varianten, die ein je singuläres räumliches Gefüge aus Licht, Farbe und Transparenz repräsentieren. Ausgewählte Stills aus diesen Studien werden wie einzelne Landschaftsbilder projiziert und nehmen den Raum farblich und architektonisch für sich ein. Die Überlagerung verschiedener Ebenen wird einem weiteren Eingriff gegenübergestellt: Wie in einem Filmabspann werden die Namen jener Menschen projiziert, die sich NOTE ON und den eingeladenen Künstler_innen verbunden fühlen. Trotz ihrer Anonymität und Vielzahl multiplizieren sich die Aktions- und Relationsmöglichkeiten im Raum. Hamann deutet so unsere oft unüberschaubar gewordenen Freundeskreise als größtes Lösungspotential zur gestellten Frage »What do you think we can do for now?«.

Christina Kral vertieft sich in die subjektive Erwartung dem bevorstehenden, unbekannten Ereignis gegenüber und sucht im Alltäglichen nach Abstraktionspotential. Sie betrachtet das Warten als einen produktiven Moment des Übergangs und inszeniert einen Warteraum, den die Besucher_innen einzeln oder zu zweit für 7 Minuten betreten dürfen. Was werden sie aus der Zeit machen? Warten hat für Kral, so wie andere Alltagssituationen und Routinen, einen potentiell transitorischen Erfahrungswert. In einem konstruierten Raum befindet sich eine formalisierte Warteraumgarnitur. Das Gefühl für Zeit und Raum wird aufgeweicht, statt konsumierbarer Kunst existieren verschiedene Vorschläge, die verbliebene Zeit aktiv zu nutzen. Möbel, Pflanzen, Objekte und Fotografien bieten Suggestionen und Anregungen, diese aktiv in Passivität zu verbringen. Der Warteraum steht im Zentrum ihrer multimedialen Installation Suggestions For The Meantime – An Archive Of Possibilities.

Das Archiv zur Ausstellung wird diesmal von Christina Kral vorgestellt und ist die Weiterführung von Suggestions For The Meantime – An Archive Of Possibilities. Sie stellt Objekte und konservierte Aktivitäten ihrer Familie aus – insbesondere die ihres Großvaters Karl Kral aus Delitzsch. Dessen Papierrollen mit Notizen zum Wetter und die Tagebücher seiner gezählten Schritte suggerieren Tätigkeiten, die durch ihre Wiederholung, Beobachtung, Dokumentation und Benennung zum Gegenstand der besonderen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Gestern, Heute und Morgen werden. Der entkoppelte Blick auf den Alltag und seine Routinen wird hier zum Agenten, der Besonderheiten, Veränderungen und Abweichungen kenntlich macht und zelebriert.

Bild: Malte Urbschat, Tropfenfahne, aus der Serie 8 Fahnen, 2003, Fahnenseide und Stoff, 100x140cm, Detail.


Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?
Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

May 19 – June 10, 2012




Friederike Hamann, Christina Kral, Malte Urbschat

Curated by
Ulrike Gerhardt, Susanne Husse

•Is there anything we can do for now?•

News about the Apocalypse #3

The third exhibition of the series »News about the Apocalypse« revolves around the question: what can be done in the face of inevitable events causing grave consequences for humankind? Three invited artists Friederike Hamann, Christina Kral and Malte Urbschat take the approaching end of the world as a fictitious starting point and take position on the question at hand.

Malte Urbschat explores the boundaries of art and science through his sculptures, mobiles, drawings and installations. For »Is there anything we can do for now?« Urbschat will install two handmade flags on the facade of Kollowitzstr. 12. These flags are part of his series 8 Fahnen (2003) and deal with the use of resources and technologies in our everyday life- specifically the growing privatization of water and the unknown long-term consequences of extensive global mobile communication networks. His work Tropfenfahne [drop flag] is accompanied by a sign with the question »Who sells us our water?« and the second flag displays a mobile phone with an antenna similar to a human tumor or a mutation, reminding us of speculations about the effects of mobile phone radiation. Urbschat’s public installation reacts to the posed question with two specific examples and renders the apocalypse as a sum of many pre-apocalyptic incidents that we are collectively holding responsibility for.

Friederike Hamann is interested in abstract representations of heterogeneous mental models and ideas in the form of specific constellations. Her installation for »Is there anything we can do for now?« reconnects with her Archive Scenes, a series of previous installations at NOTE ON experimenting with the perception of archives. In her new work she reduces the archive to its basic structures and forms of information and architecture and combines it with the idea of a collective potential in a definite yet open group of people. For her installation at NOTE ON she works with colored sheets of paper that she rearranges and documents in long and meticulous stop motion film sequences. The resulting 16mm and digital animations consist of infinite variations, each representing a singular spatial structure of light, color and transparency. Selected stills of these studies are projected like single images of landscapes, opening the room’s architectural reality while layering different levels of possibilities combined with yet another intervention: much like a movie’s credit roll the names of all people who are connected to the participating artists and NOTE ON are projected onto a wall. Despite anonymity and multitude the possibilities for action and relationship seem to multiply and Hamann points to our -often vast and extensive- circle of friends and allies as the likeliest potential for a solution to the question »What do you think we can do for now?«

Christina Kral delves into the subjective attitude towards an unknown, impending event and searches for potential of abstraction in everyday life. She perceives the act of waiting for something as a productive moment of transition and stages a waiting room that visitors can enter alone or in pairs for 7 minutes each. What will they do with their time? For Kral waiting- much like other everyday situations and routines- implies a potential transitory value of experience. A formalized, but abstracted waiting room set is placed into a constructed room. The feeling of time and space is distorted, instead of art that is ready to consume, there will be different suggestions how to use the remaining time actively. Furniture, plants, objects and photos offer suggestions and inspirations to pass the remaining time actively in passivity. The waiting room is at the center of her multimedia installation Suggestions for the Meantime An Archive of Possibilities.

The archive for the exhibition is presented by Christina Kral and is the continuation of Suggestions for the Meantime  An Archive of Possibilities. She displays objects and recorded activities of her family-mostly the ones by her grandfather Karl Kral from Delitzsch. Due to its repetition, observation and documentation, his paper scrolls of notes on the weather and diaries of counted steps suggest activities that become objects of peculiar confrontation of yesterday, today and tomorrow. The detached view on everyday life and its routines turns into an agent highlighting and celebrating idiosyncrasies, changes and differences.

Picture: Malte Urbschat, Tropfenfahne, from the series 8 Fahnen, 2003,
flag and textile, 100x140cm, detail.


Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?Is there anything we can do for now?
Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?

Is there anything we can do for now?